Sign In Forgot Password

Lost(and Stuck!) Series

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, October 17, 2021 11 Cheshvan 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

2. Sunday, October 24, 2021 18 Cheshvan 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

3. Sunday, October 31, 2021 25 Cheshvan 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

4. Sunday, November 7, 2021 3 Kislev 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

5. Sunday, November 14, 2021 10 Kislev 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

6. Sunday, November 21, 2021 17 Kislev 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

7. Sunday, November 28, 2021 24 Kislev 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

8. Sunday, December 5, 2021 1 Tevet 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

9. Sunday, December 12, 2021 8 Tevet 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

10. Sunday, December 19, 2021 15 Tevet 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

11. Sunday, December 26, 2021 22 Tevet 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

12. Sunday, January 2, 2022 29 Tevet 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

13. Sunday, January 9, 2022 7 Shevat 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

14. Sunday, January 16, 2022 14 Shevat 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

15. Sunday, January 23, 2022 21 Shevat 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online

16. Sunday, January 30, 2022 28 Shevat 5782

10:30 AM - 12:00 PMCBS-CS Online
Past Sessions
Sunday, October 10, 2021 4 Cheshvan 5782 - 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM - CBS-CS Online
Sunday, October 3, 2021 27 Tishrei 5782 - 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM - CBS-CS Online
Sunday, September 26, 2021 20 Tishrei 5782 - 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM - CBS-CS Online

enlightenedWeekly Classes!enlightened

Lost (and Stuck!) in my Religious School Bible Stories

Sundays 10:30-11:30 AM

Facilitated by Bob Tornberg.

       Although many of us attended religious school (Sunday school, Hebrew school) as children, it is also true that a significant fraction of us stopped our formal Jewish education when we were kids, even as young as 13 or 14.

        Because of this, we have grown up with a “child-eye-view” of what were lovingly called “Bible Stories” in religious school. In fact, at some point in our teens or early adult years, we may have even rejected these stories as silly fantasies designed for children.

      And yet, the Bible must have more value than this. After all, many lists show that it is the most purchased book of all time in the world. There must be more to it than children’s stories.

      In this ongoing class we look at some of those “stories” from our youth (in Torah, Prophets, and in the Writings) and show that these have deep and important meanings below the surface. Not everything will be “pretty.” Some things will be challenging/surprising/frustrating. Others parts will show us beauty/meaning/love. And all our learning will help us see that this is a book for adults—that it is not simply a story book for children.

     All are welcome and you may join the class at any time. Currently the class meets on Zoom, but we plan to be in-person/hybrid on Zoom once Religious School opens in the fall.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Sat, October 16 2021 10 Cheshvan 5782